Six beef liver capsules hold about 10 grams of liver. That’s a third of an ounce.1
The number that decides how many you can safely take, vitamin A, usually isn’t on the bottle. Only 3 of the 25 beef liver products we checked state it.
That gap matters because liver vitamin A swings hard. USDA lists US beef liver at 4,968 µg per 100 grams and New Zealand liver at 28,319.12 At the New Zealand number, one six-capsule serving delivers 97% of the adult daily upper limit for vitamin A.3
Here’s what a serving gives you, who should skip it, and how to pick a bottle that shows its numbers. Taking them for low iron or planning a pregnancy? Read the iron section and the pregnancy section first. Already shopping? Jump to the five labels.
On this page
What is in a serving of beef liver capsules?
Beef liver capsules are beef liver that has been dried, ground to powder and put in a capsule. Labels call it desiccated or freeze-dried liver. Fresh beef liver is about 71% water, so 1 gram of powder equals about 3.4 grams of fresh liver.1
Most bottles use a 3,000 mg serving. That’s six 500 mg capsules or four 750 mg ones. Here’s what those 3 grams deliver on USDA numbers.14
How to read it. Amounts are USDA math for 10.3 g of fresh liver. Real bottles vary.
| Nutrient | Per 3 g serving | Daily Value | What it means |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1Vitamin B12 | About 6 µg | About 250% | The biggest number on paper. Measured bottles show far less (below). |
| 2Copper | About 1 mg | 111% | A real dose. The upper limit is 10 mg a day.5 |
| 3Vitamin A | 511 to 2,911 µg | 57% to 323% | Depends on the liver. The upper limit is 3,000 µg.3 |
| 4Riboflavin (B2) | 0.28 mg | 22% | Modest. |
| 5Iron | 0.5 mg | 3% | Tiny. More on this below. |
| 6Folate, choline, zinc, selenium | Small amounts | 4% to 8% each | Not a reason to take it. |
| 7CoQ10 | 0.3 to 0.5 mg | No DV | Supplements use 100 to 200 mg.6 |
Some brands say a serving equals an ounce of liver.7 Water content says about 10 grams, so that claim overstates it about 3 times.
Two brands publish their own lab numbers. Both show about 1.3 to 1.4 µg of B12 per 3 grams, roughly a quarter of what the USDA math predicts.89 Another brand’s label declares 13.6 µg.10
So B12 per serving runs from about half to five times the Daily Value, depending on the bottle.
Five beef liver capsules on Amazon, label by label
These five sit near the top of Amazon’s results for beef liver capsules. Here’s what each label tells you and what it leaves out, checked against the buying checklist further down. None of them prints vitamin A per serving.
Key. Yes disclosed No not disclosed
| Product | Liver per serving | Origin | Processing | Public lab numbers | Watch for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1Nutricost Desiccated Beef Liver | 3,000 mg in 4 caps | Argentina | Dried, not defatted | No | Prop 65 lead warning (120 ct)11 |
| 2Ancestral Starter PackLiver, organ blend, bone and marrow | 3,000 mg in 6 caps (liver bottle) | New Zealand, Australia | Freeze-dried, not defatted | YesBrand-commissioned | Prop 65 notice alleging lead and PFOS12 |
| 3Force Factor Primal Origins Beef Liver | 3,000 mg in 5 caps | Not stated | Not stated | No | Little disclosed |
| 4Force Factor Primal Origins Beef Organs5-organ blend | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | No | Liver share unknown |
| 5NOW Liver CapsWith milk thistle | 1,000 mg in 2 caps | Argentina | Defatted | No | Not plain liver13 |

Pick 1
Nutricost Grass Fed Desiccated Beef Liver
Best for: a low price per gram and only 4 capsules per serving.
- 3,000 mg of Argentine, non-defatted liver in 4 capsules.
- One of the cheapest per gram of the 25 products we priced on brand sites.
- This listing is a 3-pack of 240-count bottles, 60 servings each.
The catch: Nutricost’s 120-count carries a California Prop 65 warning for lead. No public lab report and no vitamin A number.11
Check price on Amazon
Pick 2
Ancestral Supplements Starter Pack
Best for: trying liver, organs and marrow from the brand whose liver capsule has the most Amazon ratings.
- Its liver bottle has 3,000 mg per 6 capsules, freeze-dried and not defatted, from New Zealand and Australia.14
- The pack adds Ancestral’s organ blend and bone and marrow capsules.
- Publishes heavy-metal and microbe results from a lab it commissions.
The catch: A California Prop 65 notice alleges lead and PFOS in Ancestral’s beef liver, and the lawsuit is pending.12 No PFAS results are published.
Check price on Amazon
Pick 3
Force Factor Primal Origins Beef Liver
Best for: a liver-only capsule made in the USA.
- 3,000 mg of grass-fed, pasture-raised liver per serving.
- Says it’s third-party tested and made in the USA.
The catch: The listing names no country of origin, no drying method and no lab, and gives no vitamin A number.
Check price on Amazon
Pick 4
Force Factor Primal Origins Beef Organs
Best for: an organ blend instead of pure liver.
- Liver, heart, kidney, pancreas and spleen in one capsule.
- Less liver per capsule than a pure liver product, so likely less vitamin A per capsule too.
The catch: The listing doesn’t say how much of each serving is liver, so you can’t size the vitamin A or copper.
Check price on Amazon
Pick 5
NOW Liver Caps
Best for: keeping vitamin A low.
- 1,000 mg of defatted Argentine liver plus 100 mg of milk thistle extract per 2 capsules.13
- Defatting removed 68 to 91% of vitamin A in lab tests, so expect less here.15
The catch: It’s a small liver dose and not plain liver. The Amazon title also mentions eleuthero, which NOW’s own label doesn’t list.
Check price on AmazonDo beef liver supplements work?
No published human trial shows beef liver supplements improve energy, iron levels, hair or fertility. A serving does supply real amounts of B12, copper, vitamin A and riboflavin, but very little iron.
The only human study of desiccated beef liver tested whether Indonesian toddlers liked the taste. Researchers noted a “strong smell and fishy odor”.16
The energy claim traces back to 1951. Rats ate a diet of 10% desiccated liver, then swam in 20 °C water. Control rats lasted about 13 minutes. Most liver-fed rats reached the 120-minute cutoff. In warm water there was no difference.17
The liver cure people cite used far more liver. In 1926, Minot and Murphy treated pernicious anemia with 120 to 240 grams of cooked liver a day. That’s 16 to 33 times the dry matter in a capsule serving, and it won a Nobel Prize.18
The first placebo-controlled trial of a liver capsule is under way, with 100 adults over 12 weeks. Ancestral Supplements pays for it, and no results are published yet.19
What about iron and ferritin?
Beef liver capsules won’t fix low iron. A 3 gram serving holds about 0.5 mg of iron, and the Daily Value is 18 mg.14 Even the highest brand claim we found, 2.8 mg, covers 16% of it.8
That matters because many people swap iron pills for liver capsules when their stomach can’t handle the pills.
Liver iron isn’t even mostly heme iron, the form your body absorbs best. One study measured 13.6% heme in calf liver, against 64% in beef muscle.20 Another found 55% in pasture-raised cattle.21
The closest real test gave chicken-liver crackers to pregnant women in Indonesia. Hemoglobin and anemia rates didn’t change.22
So if your ferritin is low, liver capsules aren’t the fix. Ask your doctor about iron therapy and retest.
How many beef liver capsules is too many?
Stay at the label serving, usually 3,000 mg. Vitamin A sets the ceiling. The adult upper limit for preformed vitamin A is 3,000 µg a day from food and supplements combined, pregnancy included.323 With high-vitamin-A liver, six capsules can reach it.
Almost all the vitamin A in liver is preformed, and the amount depends on the animal. Ten Australian livers ranged from 13,000 to 43,000 µg per 100 grams.24 Steers fed standard feedlot vitamin A had about 7 times more in their livers.25
How to read it. 500 mg capsules, non-defatted powder.
| Liver source | Per 500 mg capsule | Per 3 g serving | Capsules to reach 3,000 µg |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1USDA, US beef liver1 | 85 µg | 511 µg | 35 |
| 2USDA, New Zealand beef liver2 | 485 µg | 2,911 µg | 6 |
| 3Highest single liver, Australia24 | About 740 µg | About 4,400 µg | 4 |
Most labels don’t tell you which row you’re on. Federal rules don’t require brands to list vitamin A.26
So stay at the label serving or under it. And don’t stack. The NHS says: “If you eat liver every week, do not take supplements that contain vitamin A.”27 That includes cod liver oil and multivitamins with retinol.
Who should skip beef liver capsules?
- Pregnant or trying to conceive. See the next section.
- On isotretinoin, acitretin or bexarotene. The isotretinoin label says to avoid supplements containing vitamin A.283
- Wilson disease. A clinical review of Wilson disease diets names liver as one of only two foods to always avoid.29 A serving carries about 1 mg of copper.
- Gout. Beef liver is a high-purine food, and the American College of Rheumatology says to avoid organ meats such as liver.3031
- Already taking vitamin A or cod liver oil, or eating liver weekly. You’re stacking toward the limit.27
- Kids. Their vitamin A limits are lower, 600 to 2,800 µg depending on age.3
- Hemochromatosis. The iron dose is small, but ask your doctor first.
Can you take beef liver capsules while pregnant?
No. The NHS lists liver and liver products under foods to avoid because “Liver and foods containing liver have high levels of vitamin A, which can be harmful to your baby.”32
EFSA says the same to women who are pregnant or planning to be.23
In a study of nearly 23,000 pregnancies, the excess risk from high-dose vitamin A supplements clustered in exposure before week 7.33 That’s why the advice covers trying to conceive too.
Some brands market organ capsules for pregnancy anyway. Pink Stork sells a “Trimester-friendly” beef organ blend with no vitamin A amount on its page.34 Ancestral lists “Fertility and Fetal Development” as a benefit.14
What side effects do beef liver capsules cause?
No study has tracked side effects of beef liver capsules at label doses. The known risks come from too much vitamin A or copper. Forum users most often report the problems below, none of them studied.
| What people report | Likely link |
|---|---|
| 1Vivid dreams, poor sleep, feeling wired | Users blame copper or B vitamins. Untested. |
| 2Headache | Headache is a sign of high-dose vitamin A toxicity.3 At label doses, unknown. |
| 3Nausea, sulfur burps, diarrhea | A rancid or contaminated batch is one possibility. Freeze-drying isn’t a kill step.35 |
| 4Gout flare | A 3 g serving carries about 23 mg of purines.30 |
| 5“Detox” fatigue | No known mechanism. |
Worried about histamine? Fresh beef liver measured about 0.2 mg of histamine per kilogram, which is low.36 No published data covers liver powder.
If histamine is a problem for you, see our guide to low histamine bread.
How to choose a beef liver supplement
Pick the bottle that shows its numbers. Here’s the checklist, biggest risk first.
- Vitamin A per serving. Only 3 of 25 products give it. Without it you can’t size your dose.
- A lab report you can open. Look for the lab name, lot number, date and units. 8 of 25 products publish heavy-metal numbers.
- A clean Prop 65 record. Search the brand in California’s Prop 65 notice database. Three California notices allege PFAS “forever chemicals” (PFOS) in beef liver products.123738 None of the 25 products publishes a PFAS test.
- Non-defatted, unless you want less vitamin A. Pulling the fat out removed 68 to 91% of the vitamin A from dried liver in lab tests.15
- Liver-only, with the liver mg listed. Blends can bury it. One popular organ blend has 600 mg of liver in a 3,000 mg serving.10
- Liver from young animals. Cadmium builds up with age. Cow livers held about 11 times the cadmium of calf livers in one survey.39
- A sealed, opaque bottle with no rancid smell. Dried liver powder pulls in moisture, and its fat can oxidize.35
Labels in this category are often wrong, so check twice. 59% of 49 bovine liver supplements broke at least one US labeling rule.40 DNA tests confirmed cattle in only 48 of 53 products, and one held undeclared pork.41
Freeze-dried, desiccated or defatted: which is better?
Freeze-dried and desiccated liver both deliver the nutrients, as long as the powder isn’t defatted. No study has compared the two drying methods for beef liver.
Freeze-drying is gentler, but it isn’t lossless. In a CSIRO pilot run, the freeze-dryer still took about 10% of the liver’s vitamin A.24
Freeze-drying doesn’t sterilize liver either. It kills only about 90 to 99% of bacteria, and a real kill step needs 99.999%.35 So a “raw” freeze-dried product should come with pathogen results.
“Desiccated” just means dried. None of the 25 products states its drying temperature.
Defatted means the fat was extracted, and most of the vitamin A leaves with it.15 That makes defatted liver the low-vitamin-A option.
“Grass-fed” describes the feed. No study has compared grass-fed and grain-fed beef liver head to head.
Myths worth dropping
- “Six capsules equal an ounce of liver.” They equal about 10 grams.1
- “The vitamin K in liver clashes with warfarin.” Raw beef liver has 3.1 µg of vitamin K per 100 grams.1
- “Whole-food vitamin A can’t be toxic.” The upper limit applies to preformed vitamin A from animal foods, which is what liver contains.3
- “Liver capsules carry a prion risk.” Liver isn’t a specified risk material under US rules, and the US, New Zealand, Argentina and Australia all hold negligible BSE risk status.4243
- “It’s rich in CoQ10.” A serving holds 0.3 to 0.5 mg.6
Beef liver capsules FAQ
How many beef liver capsules should I take a day?
Stick to the label serving, usually 3,000 mg, which is six 500 mg or four 750 mg capsules. Go higher only if the label states vitamin A and your total from food and supplements stays under 3,000 µg a day.
Are beef liver capsules as good as eating liver?
They are a much smaller dose. A 3 gram serving equals about 10 grams of fresh liver. One 3-ounce portion of pan-fried beef liver is about 8 times more liver and has 6,582 µg of vitamin A, more than twice the adult upper limit.
When should I take beef liver capsules?
No study has tested timing. If they upset your stomach, take them with a meal.
Do beef liver capsules raise ferritin?
No trial shows it. A 3 gram serving holds about 0.5 mg of iron, against a Daily Value of 18 mg. If your ferritin is low, ask your doctor about iron therapy.
Can I take beef liver capsules while breastfeeding?
The vitamin A upper limit stays at 3,000 µg a day while breastfeeding. Count every source, including prenatal vitamins, and ask your doctor.
Do beef liver capsules raise cholesterol?
A 3 gram serving has about 28 mg of cholesterol, around 9% of the 300 mg Daily Value.
Before you buy
Find two numbers on the label: liver mg per serving and vitamin A. If vitamin A is missing, email the brand and ask for it. If they can’t answer, buy from one that can.
This article is for information and is not medical advice.
Sources
Show all 43 sources
- USDA FoodData Central. Beef, variety meats and by-products, liver, raw (FDC 169451). fdc.nal.usda.gov
- USDA FoodData Central. Beef, New Zealand, imported, variety meats and by-products, liver, raw (FDC 174729). fdc.nal.usda.gov
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Vitamin A and Carotenoids: Health Professional Fact Sheet. ods.od.nih.gov
- 21 CFR 101.9(c)(8)(iv). Reference Daily Intakes for vitamins and minerals. ecfr.gov
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Copper: Health Professional Fact Sheet. ods.od.nih.gov
- An overview of analytical methods for quantitative determination of coenzyme Q10 in foods. Metabolites 2023;13(2):272. doi.org
- Gorilla Mind Beef Liver 750 mg, retailer listing reproducing the label (“1oz Beef Liver Per Serving”). vitacost.com
- Perfect Supplements. Perfect Desiccated Liver, product page with per-serving vitamin A, iron and B12 figures. perfectsupplements.com
- MK Supplements. Beef Liver, product page with a single-lot nutrient panel. mksupps.com
- NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database. Label 302844 (Vital Proteins Beef Liver) and label 276342 (Heart & Soil Beef Organs). dsld.od.nih.gov
- Nutricost. Grass-Fed Desiccated Beef Liver Capsules, product page (California Proposition 65 warning). nutricost.com
- California Attorney General. Proposition 65 60-Day Notice 2026-00888 (Ancestral Supplements; lead, PFOS), with civil complaint 26CV196573. oag.ca.gov
- NOW Foods. Liver Caps, product page. nowfoods.com
- Ancestral Supplements. Grass Fed Beef Liver, product page. ancestralsupplements.com
- Kim J, Knowles S, Hicks T (AgResearch). Reduction of vitamin A in liver for pet food applications. Meat & Livestock Australia report P.PSH.1430, 2023. mla.com.au
- Duizer LM et al. An acceptability trial of desiccated beef liver and meat powder as potential fortifiers of complementary diets of young children in Indonesia. J Food Sci 2017;82(9):2206-2212. doi.org
- Ershoff BH. Beneficial effect of liver feeding on swimming capacity of rats in cold water. Proc Soc Exp Biol Med 1951;77(3):488-491. doi.org
- Minot GR, Murphy WP. Treatment of pernicious anemia by a special diet. JAMA 1926;87:470-476 (reprinted in Yale J Biol Med 2001). The 1934 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded for this liver therapy. pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- ClinicalTrials.gov. NCT07892911: a study of a beef liver supplement on energy, mood and mental clarity (sponsor: Ancestral Supplements, LLC). clinicaltrials.gov
- Valenzuela C et al. Total iron and heme iron content and their distribution in beef meat and viscera. Biol Trace Elem Res 2009;132:103-111. doi.org
- Purchas RW, Busboom JR. The effect of production system and age on levels of iron, taurine, carnosine, coenzyme Q10 and creatine in beef muscles and liver. Meat Sci 2005;70(4):589-596. doi.org
- Diana A et al. Chicken liver and eggshell crackers for pregnant women: the SISTIK cluster randomized trial. BMC Pregnancy Childbirth 2025;25:817. doi.org
- EFSA Panel on Nutrition, Novel Foods and Food Allergens. Scientific opinion on the tolerable upper intake level for preformed vitamin A and beta-carotene. EFSA Journal 2024;22(6):e8814. pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Sabarez H et al. (CSIRO). Powdered desiccated liver preparation. Meat & Livestock Australia final report A.MPT.0060, 2015. mla.com.au
- Gorocica-Buenfil MA et al. Effect of low vitamin A diets with high-moisture or dry corn on marbling and adipose tissue fatty acid composition of beef steers. J Anim Sci 2007;85:2243-2255. doi.org
- 21 CFR 101.36. Nutrition labeling of dietary supplements. govinfo.gov
- NHS. Vitamin A. nhs.uk
- Absorica and Absorica LD (isotretinoin) prescribing information, DailyMed. dailymed.nlm.nih.gov
- Teufel-Schäfer U et al. Low copper diet: a therapeutic option for Wilson disease? Children 2022;9(8):1132. pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Kaneko K et al. Total purine and purine base content of common foodstuffs for facilitating nutritional therapy for gout and hyperuricemia. Biol Pharm Bull 2014;37(5):709-721. doi.org
- American College of Rheumatology. Gout (patient fact sheet). rheumatology.org
- NHS. Foods to avoid in pregnancy. nhs.uk
- Rothman KJ et al. Teratogenicity of high vitamin A intake. N Engl J Med 1995;333:1369-1373. doi.org
- Pink Stork. Beef Organ Complex, product page. pinkstork.com
- Danao M (University of Nebraska-Lincoln). Freeze drying questions and answers, AFDO Advanced Bootcamp, 2025. afdo.org
- Eldaly EA et al. Assessment of biogenic amines content in fresh cattle livers during chilling storage and pan-roasting. Jpn J Vet Res 2016;64(Suppl 2):S217-S223. eprints.lib.hokudai.ac.jp
- California Attorney General. Proposition 65 60-Day Notice 2025-04599 (Heart & Soil Pure American Liver; PFOS, PFNA), with settlement and judgment. oag.ca.gov
- California Attorney General. Proposition 65 60-Day Notice 2026-04683 (Growve Group beef liver products; lead, PFOS). oag.ca.gov
- López Alonso M et al. Toxic and trace elements in liver, kidney and meat from cattle slaughtered in Galicia (NW Spain). Sci Total Environ 2000;246:237-248. doi.org
- Silva AJ, Dahm OJ, Hellberg RS. Bovine liver supplement labeling practices and compliance with U.S. regulations. J Diet Suppl 2022;19(1):4-19. doi.org
- Dahm OJ, Sampson GL, Silva AJ, Hellberg RS. Use of molecular methods to authenticate animal species and tissue in bovine liver dietary supplements. J Diet Suppl 2022;19(3):381-394. doi.org
- 21 CFR 189.5. Prohibited cattle materials. govinfo.gov
- World Organisation for Animal Health. Bovine spongiform encephalopathy: official disease status. woah.org
